h1

The Great Task of Happiness

January 12, 2007

boywithtoad.jpg  

The Celestial Surgeon

If I have faltered more or less
In my great task of happiness;
If I have moved among my race
And shown no glorious morning face;
If beams from happy human eyes
Have moved me not; if morning skies,
Books, and my food, and summer rain
Knocked on my sullen heart in vain: —
Lord, Thy most pointed pleasure take
And stab my spirit broad awake;
Or, Lord, if too obdurate I,
Choose Thou, before that spirit die,
A piercing pain, a killing sin,
And to my dead heart run them in!

Robert Louis Stevenson

What have you done today to accomplish your “great task of Happiness”?

My suggestion: turn off your TV, your radio, and your computer, and go outside to take a walk in the park.

A happy Supervixen is a strong Supervixen.

H.R.H. Supervixen

5 comments

  1. It’s Deep Canadian Winter out.
    The things that you want us to turn off will keep us from killing and eating each other when we run out of books.(Good time to invade Canada:never.)

    Hope you have a lovely walk!


  2. Need to put in 8 hrs before the great task of happiness begins.


  3. It’s -15 here. I’ll just cuddle up in front of the computer and put on a few dozen MST3K episodes. Someone let me know when it’s June…


  4. I’d like to invade Canada. Montreal, in particular. There’s a great bar (Le Cheval Blanc) and a wonderful tea house (Camellia Sinensis). Ah, that reminds me of another poem to post.

    I haven’t even been to Toronto yet!

    Wow, I envy you cold folks, because we’ve been having a warm and mucky winter in northern NH. The ski resorts are despairing. However, the past couple of days it’s been in the 20s – so there’s still hope of a decent winter yet.


  5. Ha! The Yanks are weak! They have no Frost-heart!
    The glaciers do not call to them.The blizzards do not sing in their veins!
    We laugh at your invasion.An evil,bitter laugh.
    Ha!



Comments are closed.

